top of page
  • cardioid21

Bird's Eye View of Life Ahead

The habit of exploring the unexplored engulfed me form this moment. My flight was changed from Kolkata airport to Imphal. The crowd on the Kolkata–Imphal flight was not one I was acquainted with. The whole journey was filled with the mixed feelings, but the urge to step out of my comfort zone was so strong that everything felt good. I got the window seat. The terrain changed, and I thought, how is this even possible? How can a 32,87,263 sq. km area (Indian land) hold and nurture such extensive variety?

Earlier, while flying over West Bengal, I witnessed coal mines, then the sea, followed by the hills of the northeast. It all culminated with a view I will never forget. Manipur – the Jewel of India – protected and surrounded by Natural forts of hills and mountains, and in between lies an inexplicable beauty. It was as if, high-rising borders were protecting the inner beauty from spilling over and then the view of Loktak lake – the world’s only floating lake – freshwater lake of Northeast. A miracle in itself! I had never seen such unusual artistry of nature. Floating circular swamps, called 'Phumdis' in the local tongue, looked like rings seamlessly drifting on the lake. Witnessing this from a bird’s- eye view was simply marvelous. Everywhere I looked, nature took on a different form – green patches, floating rings, rice farming in small water patches, and the reflection of jet-blue skies and clouds in those waters.

This whole plateau is surrounded by hills, and the hills were crowned by clouds. I could almost imagine the fresh smell of trees, lakes, and forests, even though I was sitting in the plane.

When I landed, I saw the Tiranga proudly waving in the Himalayan winds, in tune with the spirit of Manipur. I felt so connected to this soil, so content. The only thought in my mind was: this is where I belong – in nature, amidst the mighty Himalayas, with the clouds, serving the nation.



 

120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


20220810_161701_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for dropping by!

This site will be used to publish the series of blogs sharing the stories from the north east part of India and the experiences of living across the villages of Arunachal and Manipur states.

bottom of page